Home > Awesome, Behind The Scenes, Editorial, Gear, How To, Indi, inspiration, Music, Music Video, News, photography, Pictures, Rumors, Video > Hip Hop’s #1 Photographer: Jonathan Mannion

Hip Hop’s #1 Photographer: Jonathan Mannion




I’m a pretty big fan of Hip Hop music and I have seen every one of the pictures in these first 2 two videos that follow after the break, I have included many videos for your enjoyment. What I didn’t know was that they were all taken by a single person. Jonathan Mannion Is extremely talented but he also seemed to be around in exactly the right time to shoot the faces of this growing genre of music.


Back in the Days : 27 Mars à La Bellevilloise , Episode #1 from Nadim33 on Vimeo.


Back in the Days : 27 Mars à La Bellevilloise , Episode #2 from Nadim33 on Vimeo.


Jonathan Mannion began his career in 1996 by shooting the photos for Jay’z hip-hop classic Reasonable Doubt. Since then Jonathan has photographed many of the top M.C.’s, athletes and celebrities in the world.


In regard to getting the opportunity to shoot many of the most influential figures in hip hop, he is quoted as saying “I’m just a messenger, and I’ve been given a talent to document an extremely important era of music history. I have a love for hip-hop that goes back to when I was a teenager, and I feel blessed to have had the chance to shoot the artists I’ve worked with. I’ve had the opportunity to grow with them and the photos I’ve shot over the years have become visual bullet points of their creative evolution and mine.”

PART 1.



PART 2.

A very hard to find book with an amazing collection of hip hop images called: HIP HOP: A CUTURAL ODYSSEY could be found here.

BUY HIP-HOP: A CUTURAL ODYSSEY [HARDCOVER] HERE.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

